Aberdeen Area
DYCE Schoolhill Hutcheon Street Woodside Bucksburn Bankhead Stoneywood ABERDEEN
Not shown in detail is the link southwards from Aberdeen Joint Station, via Caledonian metals.
From the late 19th Century, through till 1937, GNSR ran suburban services from Dyce to Aberdeen on the main line and Park to Aberdeen on the Deeside line. These required extensive track doubling, and the creation of eight new stations (Schoolhill, Hutcheon St., Don St., and Persley, on the Main Line and Holburn St., Pitfodels, West Cults and Bieldside on the Deeside). These “subbies” were popular, but increasingly suffered from competition from buses and trams. In 1937, they gave up the struggle and - although the lines remained open - many of the extra stations were closed.
Railway Clearing House diagram
RCH map (click)
Aberdeen Area trains Ferryhilll Junction (1960)